20 Days, 20 Lessons: #11

During my first week in Magelang, I went to a celebration for my headmaster to wish her a safe journey on her pilgrimage to Mecca. As with all Indonesian gatherings, there was food to be enjoyed and tea to sip. Given that my first week in Indonesia I was still trying to remember how to say thank you, I had no idea what was going on. However, shortly after arriving I could tell that there was a lot of commotion over a banana that appeared to be a hot potato. Inevitably curious, I asked an English speaking co-worker to fill me in.

Lesson #11: If you eat a siamese twin banana (as I will call them), you will have twins. Apparently Indonesians aren’t all that into twins.

Leave a Reply

