When You Show Up Unfashionably Late…

…why did you even bother coming at all?

There was a time of my life that I blogged everyday. Every. Single. Day. Tables have turned, as has my discipline. I want to be good at blogging again, but once I fall behind I inevitably get overwhelmed by the thought of an update and start saying, “Tomorrow will be the day I write a post.” Tomorrow comes and goes, and no post is written. Today is the day (or tomorrow when I actually publish this. I’m embarrassed to admit I  wrote that two weeks ago).

The last time I posted was when I broke me toe. Did I mention the power went out at the hospital when I went to get my x-ray? Or how when I returned two days later to pick up the slides, every staff member from every department seemingly knew my name, and upon entering the doctor’s “office” I was greeted with, “Safanna! We’ve been waiting for you!” Anyway, the toe is back in business. I am however anticipating the loss of my right pinky nail from bruising.

So that was November. December rolled around and the liburan, holiday, began. My program restricts my travel quite a bit, but fortunately I was able to visit some of Indonesia’s wonders and jet set to Thailand with Federico.

Several things worth noting from my adventures:

  1. While on Flores (east of Bali to give you an idea), I visited Komodo National Park. Komodo Dragons do not look dangerous. They are awkward and lumber around at the pace of a turtle. Apparently they run fast and have consumed people.
  2. I ate a lot in Thailand. Thai food is my favorite. Okay, maybe thaid (lol, get it?) with Indian. Basically all this tells you is that I am very passionate about curry.
  3. Federico and I spent Christmas on a little island called Koh Yao Noi, about midway between Krabi and Phuket. It was amazing, but hot weather on Christmas is just plain weird.
  4. When it comes to puppies, fireworks, and lanterns, my maturity level drops 10 fold.
  5. You don’t realize what you have until it’s gone. Wine and IPAs. Both of which are obtainable in Thailand, neither of which are available where I reside.
  6. If anyone is looking for a fulfilling two week itinerary in Thailand, come to me. Think: avoiding crowds, delicious food, beautiful beaches, peaceful drives, dreamy + affordable accommodations, authentic people, etc. However, keeping in mind my goal to be good at blogging again, I may write a separate post about it.

Now, startin’ fresh. I can’t believe it’s March already. I’m more than 2/3 of the way through my grant. Since my last appearance here, aside from my liburan travels, the past two months can be summed up by the following: I spent about a week in Jakarta for a midyear conference, finally getting a taste (quite literally) of the polluted city air and excessive malls. I completed an online course called A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment and applied to a few teaching programs in Spain. I learned that Indonesia has very large scorpions which may prompt a security guard to shout, “Danger, danger!” before kicking it with his barefoot. I realized that some people (read: the construction workers at my school) do not mind listening to the same song on repeat for 10+ times (I was near tears). I began eating a lot of squash and tempeh, and experienced the true meaning of sadness when it comes to finishing a jar of organic peanut butter. Ah, I also was in my first minor motorbike tumble. Read on.

This morning I went to a Curug Silawe waterfall with some friends. Unfortunately, the falling was not limited to the water. What goes up, must come down, especially when a large pothole and rock get in your way. You know when you’re riding a bicycle uphill and stop, and then when you try to pedal on it’s difficult to get going and you may find yourself (uncontrollably) rolling backwards? Well, that’s essentially what happened. Except a motorbike with two human beings is a lot heavier than a bicycle. And the road was not much of a road. On the bright side, we were going slow and I turned my little fall into a somersault, successfully avoiding the exhaust pipe (I have become graceful since my last topple, no?). It seemed only appropriate that I complete this post today given that the last time I wrote was also when I fell.

I’m more of a visuals person, so here are a few pictures to give some life to my ramblings. XO.

FLORES

IMG_7998
Having a moment

IMG_7949

DCIM100GOPROGOPR2111.
Pulau Padar

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetDCIM100GOPROGOPR2279.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR2300.
Kelimutu

IMG_8134Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

IMG_8044
Labuan Bajo

THAILAND

IMG_8346
Bananas Bungalows

DCIM100GOPROG0032483.DCIM100GOPROGOPR2499.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR2551.
Koh Hong Lagoon

IMG_8396

IMG_8421
Shell Fossil Beach
IMG_8424
Messy curry in all of its glory
IMG_8435
Coconut milk ice cream

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetIMG_8452IMG_8476IMG_8550

IMG_8574
Pad Thai
DCIM100GOPROG0132885.
Koh Yao Noi

DCIM100GOPROGOPR2936.Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetIMG_8679IMG_8682

IMG_8695
Ao Nang
Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset
Chatuchak Market, Bangkok

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

IMG_8803
LOL
IMG_8822
Chiang Mai
Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset
Doi Suthep

IMG_8839DCIM101GOPROGOPR3476.IMG_8847DCIM101GOPROG0443622.

IMG_8923
New Years Eve sky in Pai full of fireworks and lanterns

IMG_8983

Curug Silawe

Processed with VSCOcam with kk1 presetIMG_0284IMG_0291Processed with VSCOcam with kk1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with kk1 preset

2 thoughts on “When You Show Up Unfashionably Late…

  1. Wow Sav you are having such an amazing experience! Beautiful pictures – although I expected you to be in the water with the elephants! I can’t wait to hear all about it! Love and miss you xoxo

Leave a Reply

